Founded in 1979, the Cape Wine Academy is recognised as the official wine education and training institution in South Africa. 

 

The South African Wine Course

 

The South African Wine Course is your introduction to wine, wine origins, and how to identify and compare wines through taste, sight and smell. On completion of the course, students can take an in-depth journey into South African wine with the Certificate Wine Course.

Course overview
The South African Wine Course comprises two lectures complete with wine tastings as well as an exam.

 

Lecture 1
»
The five taste sensations
» Cause and effect wine tasting
» Grape Varieties
» Storage and service
» Tutored white wine tasting.

Lecture 2
» Viticulture
» Harvesting of quality wine
» Wine making practices
» Tutored red wine tasting.

Exam
»
Theory Examination (60 minutes)


Who should do the South African Wine Course?
The South African Wine Course is designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in wine appreciation. This is also the starting point to a career in the wine and hospitality industry.

This is a fun and informative course designed to enhance your appreciation of wine by equipping you with the basic skills in identifying and appreciating South African wines.

Course duration
Two evening lectures OR a five hour day course with an exam. Course duration: 5 hours.

Successful completion of this course will enable students to enrol for the Cape wine academy's Certificate wine course.

Course materials
All lectures include wine tastings, course materials and four International tasting glasses in a branded wine carrier pack.

 

Enquire Now: Click Here

 

2018 Wine Courses ~ Gauteng

 

EVENING COURSES:

*Cost:   R1400.00 per person

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture 2nd Lecture
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Wednesday 25th April Wednesday 2nd May
Sandton: Protea balalaika Wednesday 5th September Wednesday 12th September

 

Students attending classes receive a course manual and a set of 4 wine tasting glasses in a carry pack.

 

DAY COURSES: 2018

*Cost:  R1,660.00 per person (optional lunch at an extra cost of R190 per person, at selected venues)

 

Area / Venue Lecture 1 & 2

Sandton: The Capital 20 West

Saturday 27th January
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 24th February
Sandton: Protea Balalaika Saturday 24th March
Pretoria: Casa Toscana Saturday 5th May
Sandton: The Capital 20 West Saturday 26th May
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Saturday 23rd June
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 28th July
Sandton: Protea Balalaika Saturday 25th August
Sandton: The Capital 20 West Saturday 29th September
Sandton: The Capital 20 West Saturday 27th October
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 24th November
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 1st December

 

2018 Wine Courses ~ Western Cape

 

EVENING COURSES:
*Cost:   R1400.00 per person

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture 2nd Lecture
Stellenbosch: ARC, Idas Valley Monday 12th February Thursday 15th February
Stellenbosch: ARC, Idas Valley Tuesday 20th February Thursday 22nd February
King David Mowbray Golf Club: Pinelands Monday 16th April Monday 23rd April
Durbanville: Urban Wines Monday 7th May Monday 14th May
Durbanville: De Grendel Wine Estate Monday 23rd July Monday 30th July
Stellenbosch: ARC, Idas Valley Monday 20thAugust Thursday 23rd August
Durbanville: Urban Wines Monday 5th October Monday 22nd October

 

DAY COURSES: 2018
*Cost:  R1,660.00 per person (optional lunch at an extra cost of R180 per person, at selected venues)

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Saturday 27th January
Pinelands: King David Mowbray Golf Club Saturday 3rd March
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Friday 16th March
Stellenbosch: Delheim Wines Saturday 14th April
Constantia: Groot Constantia Wine Estate Saturday 5th May
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Friday 18th May
Pinelands: king David Mowbray Golf Club Saturday 2nd June
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Saturday 28th July
Constantia: Groot Constantia Wine Estate Saturday 11th August
Stellenbosch: Delheim Wines Saturday 18th August
Pinelands: king David Mowbray Golf Club Saturday 1st September
Paarl: Backsberg Wine Estate Friday 14th September
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Friday 26th October
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Saturday 1st December

 

(*Outlying venues - Worcester, Hermanus, Port Elizabeth, Knysna, George & Robertson.)

 

Enquire Now: Click Here