The South African Wine Course

 

The South African Wine Course is your introduction to wine, wine origins, and how to identify and compare wines through taste, sight and smell. On completion of the course, students can take an in-depth journey into South African wine with the Certificate Wine Course.

Course overview
The South African Wine Course comprises two lectures complete with wine tastings as well as an exam.

 

Lecture 1
»
The five taste sensations
» Cause and effect wine tasting
» Grape Varieties
» Storage and service
» Tutored white wine tasting.

Lecture 2
» Viticulture
» Harvesting of quality wine
» Wine making practices
» Tutored red wine tasting.

Exam
»
Theory Examination (60 minutes)


Who should do the South African Wine Course?
The South African Wine Course is designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in wine appreciation. This is also the starting point to a career in the wine and hospitality industry.

This is a fun and informative course designed to enhance your appreciation of wine by equipping you with the basic skills in identifying and appreciating South African wines.

Course duration
Two evening lectures OR a five hour day course with an exam. Course duration: 5 hours.

Successful completion of this course will enable students to enrol for the Cape wine academy's Certificate wine course.

Course materials
All lectures include wine tastings, course materials and four International tasting glasses in a branded wine carrier pack.

 

Enquire Now: Click Here

 

2017 Wine Courses ~ Gauteng

 

EVENING COURSES:

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture 2nd Lecture Exam
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Tuesday 16th May Tuesday 23rd May Tuesday 29th May
Sandton: The Capital 20 West Wednesday 6th September Wednesday 13th September Monday 18th September

 

Time:   18h30 – 21h00 -- Exam:  18h30 – 19h30
Students attending classes receive a course manual and a set of 4 wine tasting glasses in a carry pack.
*Cost:   R1300.00 per person

 

DAY COURSES:

 

Area / Venue Lecture 1 & 2 Exam

Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel

Saturday 28th January Monday 6th February
Sandton: Protea Balalika Saturday 25th February Monday 6th March
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 18th March Monday 27th March
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Saturday 1st April Monday 10th May
Pretoria: Casa Toscana Saturday 6th May Wednesday 17th May
Sandton: Protea Balalika Saturday 20th May Monday 29th May
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 24th June Monday 3rd July
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Saturday 29th July Monday 7th August
Sandton: Protea Balalika Saturday 26th August Monday 4th September
Sandton: The Capital 20 West Saturday 9th September Monday 18th September
Centurion: Leriba Hotel Saturday 7th October Monday 16th October
Sandton: Protea Balalika Saturday 4th November Monday 13th November
Sandton: Da Vinci Hotel Saturday 2nd December Monday 11th December

 

Time:    08h15 – 13h30 -- Exam:  18h30 – 19h30
*Cost:  R1,500.00 per person (optional lunch at an extra cost of R190 per person, at selected venues)


2017 Wine Courses ~ Western Cape / KwaZulu-Natal

 

EVENING COURSES:
Time:  18h00 – 20h30 -- Exam: 18h00 – 19h00

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture 2nd Lecture Exam
Stellenbosch: ARC, Idas Valley Monday 13th February Monday 20th February Monday 27th February
Durbanville: De Grendel Wine Estate Monday 15th May Monday 22nd May Monday 29th May
King David Mowbray Golf Club: Pinelands Tuesday 25th July 4th July Thursday 27th July Monday 31st July
Durbanville: De Grendel Wine Estate Monday 14th August Monday 21st August Monday 28th August
Stellenbosch: ARC, Idas Valley Monday 11th September Wednesday 13th September Monday 18th September

 

Time:    18h00 – 20h30 -- Exam:  18h00 – 19h00
*Cost:   R1300.00 per person

 

DAY COURSES:
Time:    08h15 – 13h30 -- Exam:  18h00 – 18h45   

 

Area / Venue 1st Lecture Exam
Gansbaai: Grootbos Nature Reserve, Forest lodge Wednesday 25th January Monday 30th January
Stellenbosch: Jordan Wine Estate Saturday 28th January Tuesday 31st January
King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands Saturday 25th February Tuesday 28th February
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Friday 4th March Monday 6th March
Groot Constantia Wine Estate Saturday 25th March Tuesday 28th March
King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands Saturday 22nd April Tuesday 25th April
Stellenbosch: Delheim Wines Saturday 6th May Wednesday 10th May
Durban KZN: St James on Venice Saturday 20th May Tuesday 23rd May
Stellenbosch: Jordan Wine Estate Saturday 27th May Tuesday 30th May
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Friday 23rd June Tuesday 27th June
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Estate Saturday 8th July Tuesday 11th July
Stellenbosch: Delheim Wines Saturday 19th August Monday 21st August
Groot Constantia Wine Estate Saturday 26th August Tuesday 29th August
Durban KZN: St James on Venice Saturday 9th September Tuesday 12th September
King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands Saturday 16th September Monday 18th September
Stellenbosch: Jordan Wine Estate Saturday 28th October Tuesday 31st October
King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands Saturday 11th November Tuesday 14th November
Stellenbosch: Morgenhof Wine Esate Friday 1st December Monday 4th December

 

(*Outlying venues - Worcester, Hermanus, Port Elizabeth, Knysna, George & Robertson.)

Time:    08h00 – 13h30 -- Exam:  18h00 – 18h45
*Cost:  R1,550.00 per person (optional lunch at an extra cost of R190 per person, at selected venues)