Founded in 1979, the Cape Wine Academy is recognised as the official wine education and training institution in South Africa. 

DISTELL - DGB - RAATS - The Wines of JORDAN - CEDERBERG - FLAGSTONE - VILLIERA WINES - STELLAR WINERY - SOLMS DELTA - BACKSBERG - DELHEIM - LANDZICHT - JASON'S HILL - KEN FORRESTER - KNORHOEK - ZEVENWACHT - GROOT CONTANTIA - NELSON WINE ESTATE - STRANVELD - DEWETSHOP ESTATE - VRIESENHOF VINEYARDS - EDGEBASTIN - DARLING CELLARS - CRONIER WINES - MIMOSA - SIMONSIG - ROBERTSON WINERY - MEERENDAL - WINDFALL - TEDDYHALL - CAPE ELEVATION VINEYARDS - LAIBACH - LEOPARDSLEAP - ANTHONIJ RUPERT - CLOS MALVERNE - BLAKE'S FAMILY WINES - CAPAIA - MERWIDA - NITIDA - ERNIE ELS - 4THSTREET - ALLESVERIOREN - BELLINGHAM - BOSHENDAL - DOUGLAS GREEN - DROSTDY-HOF - DURBANVILLE HILLS - TUKULU - FLEURDUCAP - FORT SIMON - FRANSHOEK CELLAR - GRACA - HILL&DALE - IMBUKO - JACOBSDAL - J.C.LEROUX - NEDERBURG - NEETHLINGSHOF - OLDENBURG - PLACE IN THE SUN - PLAISIR DE MERLE - PONGRACS - RIEBEEK CELLARS - SEDGWICK'S - STELLENZICHT - TALL HORSE - the beachhouse - THEUNISKRAAL - TWO OCEANS - UITKYK - ZONNEBLOEM

 

Certificate Wine Course

 

Take an in-depth journey into South African wine with the Certificate Wine Course. Broaden your viticulture and winemaking knowledge, whilst learning about the industry, sparkling, sweet and dessert style wines, along with fortified wines and brandies.

Course overview
* Seven evening lectures or over 3 days. The 3-day course is a compact wine course that takes place over three days. The theory and tasting exams will be written in June and November, in the evenings.
Successful completion of the Certificate Wine Course exams will enable students to enrol for the Cape Wine Academy’s Diploma Wine Course.

 



Lecture 1
» Tutored Wine Tasting

Lecture 2
» Viticulture. Seasons of the vine: how to establish a vineyard.
» Pests and diseases
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 3
» Viticulture. Wine growing areas of South Africa.
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 4
» Winemaking: from arrival at cellar till final product.
» Art of blending, wood treatments, innovations in winemaking.
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 5
» Brandy distilling. Process of production. Different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 6
» Fortified Wines – Sherry, Port, Fortified Wines
» Special & Noble Late Harvest wines – definition & different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 7
» Sparkling Wines – methods of production, different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

 

 

 


Cost:
R 3,200.00 per person (evening)
R 4,100 per person (Includes lunch & teas)
R 1,895 (correspondence) - excludes any additional postage/courier costs of course and examination materials to and from the student,
invigilation fees etc.


Enquire Now:
Click Here

 

SCHEDULE CLASS DATES - 2018

 

EVENING CLASS DATES

Evening Lectures

Cape Town King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands

Stellenbosch
ARC North Campus Stellenbosch

Times

1

Thursday 8th March Wednesday 13th September 18:00-20:30
2 Thursday 15th March Wednesday 20th September 18:00-20:30
3 Thursday 12th April Wednesday 27th September 18:00-20:30
4 Thursday 19th April Wednesday 11th October 18:00-20:30
5 Thursday 26th April Wednesday 18th October 18:00-20:30
6 Thursday 3rd May Wednesday 25th October 18:00-20:30
7 Thursday 10th May Wednesday 1st November 18:00-20:30
Exams Theory (Monday) 11th June Theory (Monday) 19th November 18:00-20:30
Exams Tasting (Tuesday) 12th June Tasting (Tuesday) 20th November 18:00-19:00

 

Course times: 18h00–20h30
Exam times:   Theory –  18h00-20h30 Tasting – 18h00-19h00
*Cost:             R3200.00 per person

 

3 DAY COURSE DATES

 

Stellenbosch - Morgenhof Wine

Thursday 19th April

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 20th April

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 21st April 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Pinelands - King David Mowbray Golf Club

Thursday 17th May

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 18th May

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 19th May 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 11th June -- Tasting 12th June

 

Stellenbosch - Morgenhof Wine Estate

Thursday 16th August

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 17th August

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 18th August 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Constantia - Groot Constantia Wine Estate

Saturday 22nd September

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 29th September

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 6th October 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Pinelands - king David Mowbray Golf Club

Thursday 25th October

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 26th October

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 27th October 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 19th November -- Tasting 20th November

Course times: 18h00–20h30
Exam times:   Theory –  18h00-20h30 Tasting – 18h00-19h00
*Cost:             R4,100.00 per person (Includes lunch & teas)


GAUTENG

 

3 DAY CERTIFICATE COURSE 2018

 

Sandton -Da Vinci Hotel

Saturday 7th April

08:00 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 14th April

08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 21st April 08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings

 

Centurion -Leriba Lodge

Saturday 7th July

08:00 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 14th July

08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 21st July 08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings

 

Sandton - The Capital 20 West

Saturday 6th October 08:00 - 16:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 13th October 08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 20th October 08:00 - 14:00 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 19th November -- Tasting 20th November

 

Course times: as per above schedule
Exam times:   Theory –  18h30-21h00 Tasting – 18h30-19h30
*Cost:             R4,100.00 per person (Includes lunch & teas)