Certificate Wine Course

 

Take an in-depth journey into South African wine with the Certificate Wine Course. Broaden your viticulture and winemaking knowledge, whilst learning about the industry, sparkling, sweet and dessert style wines, along with fortified wines and brandies.

Course overview
* Seven evening lectures or over 3 days. The 3-day course is a compact wine course that takes place over three days. The theory and tasting exams will be written in June and November, in the evenings.
Successful completion of the Certificate Wine Course exams will enable students to enrol for the Cape Wine Academy’s Diploma Wine Course.

 



Lecture 1
» Tutored Wine Tasting

Lecture 2
» Viticulture. Seasons of the vine: how to establish a vineyard.
» Pests and diseases
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 3
» Viticulture. Wine growing areas of South Africa.
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 4
» Winemaking: from arrival at cellar till final product.
» Art of blending, wood treatments, innovations in winemaking.
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 5
» Brandy distilling. Process of production. Different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 6
» Fortified Wines – Sherry, Port, Fortified Wines
» Special & Noble Late Harvest wines – definition & different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

Lecture 7
» Sparkling Wines – methods of production, different styles
» Wine Tasting and discussion

 

 

 


Cost:
R 3,220.00 per person (evening)
R 4,130 per person (Includes lunch & teas)
R 2,000 (correspondence) - excludes any additional postage/courier costs of course and examination materials to and from the student,
invigilation fees etc.


Enquire Now:
Click Here

 

SCHEDULE CLASS DATES - 2019

 

EVENING CLASS DATES

Evening Lectures

King David Mowbray Golf Club, Pinelands

Stellenbosch, TBC

Times

1

Thursday 28th Febuary Thursday 5th September 18:00-20:30
2 Thursday 7th March Thursday 12th September 18:00-20:30
3 Thursday 14th March Thursday 19th September 18:00-20:30
4 Thursday 4th April Thursday 10th October 18:00-20:30
5 Thursday 11th April Thursday 17th October 18:00-20:30
6 Thursday 25th April Thursday 24th October 18:00-20:30
7 Thursday 2nd May Thursday 31st October 18:00-20:30
Exams Theory (Monday) 3rd June Theory (Monday) 18th November 18:00-20:30
Exams Tasting (Tuesday) 4th June Tasting (Tuesday) 19th November 18:00-19:00

 

Course times: 18h00–20h30
Exam times:   Theory –  18h00-20h30 Tasting – 18h00-19h00
*Cost:             R3220.00 per person

 

3 DAY COURSE DATES

 

Stellenbosch - Morgenhof Wine

Thursday 7th March

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 8th March

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 9th March 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Pinelands - King David Mowbray Golf Club

Thursday 9th May

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 10th May

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 11th May 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 3rd June -- Tasting 4th June

 

Stellenbosch - Morgenhof Wine Estate

Thursday 15th August

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 16th August

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 17th August 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Constantia - Groot Constantia Wine Estate

Saturday 21st September

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 5th October

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 12th October 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Pinelands - king David Mowbray Golf Club

Thursday 24th October

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Friday 25th October

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 26th October 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 18th November -- Tasting 19th November

Course times: 18h00–20h30
Exam times:   Theory –  18h00-20h30 Tasting – 18h00-19h00
*Cost:             R4,130.00 per person (Includes lunch & teas)


GAUTENG

 

3 DAY CERTIFICATE COURSE 2019

 

Sandton - The Capital, 20 West Sandton

Saturday 9th March

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 6th April

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 13th April 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

Exam - Theory 3rd June -- Tasting 4th June

 

Centurion -Leriba Hotel

Saturday 13th July

07:45 - 16:00

Lectures & Tastings

Saturday 20th July

08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 27th July 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Sandton - The Capital 20 West

Saturday 5th October 07:45 - 16:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 12th October 08:00 - 13:00 Lectures & Tastings
Saturday 19th October 08:15 - 12:30 Lectures & Tastings

 

Exam - Theory 18th November -- Tasting 19th November

 

Course times: as per above schedule
Exam times:   Theory –  18h00-20h3000 Tasting – 18h00-19h00
*Cost:             R4,130.00 per person (Includes lunch & teas)

 

* Note prices valid until end Dec 2019 only, courses in 2020 are subject to a price increase.